Vendor Feature: Maria Palermo (Palermo Photo)

Epic Event Planning by Jessica & Kourtney is very excited about this week’s feature vendor, Maria Palermo of Palermo Photo.   EEP began working with Maria in 2010 as we were preparing for a client’s 2011 nuptials at the Priory’s Grand Hall.  Maria instantly won over our client’s hearts, and she continues to do so with client after client today.

172977_10150100993787335_6099164_oDSC_6891

Maria’s love for weddings and photography began as a teenager, “I was the girl in high school planning my own wedding. Instead of buying seventeen or Cosmo magazine, I was knee deep in the Knot,” she shared with EEP.   During her discovery of her love for weddings, she also began photography as a hobby.  “I always had a camera strapped to me–I used my lunch money to buy and develop film as a child and became the unofficial documentarian/paparazzi for my tiny private school. I finally took a photography course senior year in high school and never looked back. Watching an image develop in front of my eyes in that darkroom made everything clearer–I knew this was my gift, my passion,” Maria explained.   Only 2 years later, Maria photographed her first wedding, and she knew, “I was born to do this job, and I love every minute of it.”

DSC_7608DSC_8064-5

Maria dazzles clients with a wonderful sense of humor as initially joking that the “cookie table” is the reason she went into this field of business, but goes on to honestly describe the moment when she truly knew that she HAD to be in this business.  “I shot engagement photos for a high school friend who was on a budget and loved it!  I knew they had a wedding photographer selected and knew how excited they were to work with him, so I was happy to attend the wedding as a guest—sadly, I got a call from the bride the day before the wedding, when she should have been preoccupied with total happiness and excitement, instead she had to relay to me that her photographer would not be coming to her wedding and would instead send his assistant.  My friend was devastated.  I was devastated for her!  At that moment, I swore I would never let another bride be disappointed with wedding photography and that I needed to start my own business to make sure that brides were protected and revered, and I have been loving my life and work ever since.”

Although she has a “laundry list” of great memories from this business, Maria was recently asked by a groom if she’d like to remain at the reception and hang out “because they felt like I was part of their inner circle now, I was their friend,” Maria says.   After getting to know all of her clients to be sure she is able “tailor” her work to their style, many of her couples become friends.

PALERMOPHOTO-216PALERMOPHOTO-231

EEP would recommend Maria’s services to any of our clients because of her excellence in photography, professionalism, and affordability.   In addition to a “great collection of photographs,” Maria’s clients very much appreciate her caring and involvement because Maria is a photographer that will “straighten your bow tie or bouquet and teach your maid of honor how to fluff your dress just right.”  Maria thinks, “The beauty of wedding day is in those little moments, the details, and that’s what I’m there to not only capture but nurture.  My clients love how unobtrusive I can be capturing the special moments but also love seeing me play around with the wedding party and make jokes during the family portraits.  I love this job because it isn’t just a job, it’s my life’s passion and I think my images reflect that joy that comes to me only when I am standing behind the camera.”  She always says “people smile at me all day, how bad can my job be?!”

Epic Event Planning by Jessica & Kourtney would confidently recommend Palermo Photo to any client, as we do feel that Maria is one of the best in Pittsburgh!

Please visit Palermo Photo for photography information as well contact information.

PALERMOPHOTO-14

All Photos Courtesy of Palermo Photo

 

Leave a Reply

